Share content in Collaborate

You can easily share files in Collaborate, although you are restricted to certain types of files. 

1. Share files

  1. Open the Share Content window
  2. Click on the option for Share Files.
  3. Click on the Add Files button to can upload any .pdf files, image files, or PowerPoint presentations. You can also drag and drop those file types into this window.
  4. Click Share Now once your file has finished uploading.

Once you’ve started sharing your content, you can use the buttons in the top left of the window.

Screenshot of the icons for whiteboards and Powerpoint presentations
  • The icon of a hand creates a pointer that all of the participants can see.
  • The pencil icon allows you to draw on the item being shared.
  • The square icon allows you to draw a shape (square, circle or line) on the item.
  • The ‘T’ icon allows you to enter typed text on the item.
  • The eraser icon clears the screen of everything added to it.

If you’re sharing a PowerPoint presentation, you’ll have arrow buttons at the bottom of the window that allow you to move between slides.

To stop sharing, click the square button in the top right of the main window.

2. Share a whiteboard

  1. Open the Share Content window 
  2. Click on the option for Share Blank Whiteboard.

Once you’re sharing your whiteboard, you can use all of the tools mentioned above (pointer, pencil, shapes, text, and eraser).

To stop sharing, click the square button in the top right of the main window or the square button to the right of the option for Share Blank Whiteboard in the Share Content window.

3. Share screens or application windows

  1. Open the Share Content window (for help doing this, look at the getting started with Collaborate guide)
  2. Click on Share Application/Screen
  3. Choose what you want to share. A pop-up window will appear that has tabs across the top for ‘Your Entire Screen’, ‘Application Window’ and ‘[Browser] Tab’.

‘Your Entire Screen’ shares your whole screen. To select this option, click on the ‘preview’ window of your screen, then click Share at the bottom of the window. When you have selected a screen, you’ll see a blue box outlining it. If you haven’t selected a screen then you won’t be able to use the Share button.

Screenshot of Share Application pop-up from Collaborate with arrow point at selected window

Sharing your Application Window is ideal if you want to share an application such as Excel or Word without sharing your whole screen.  Select the preview window for the application you want to share, then click Share at the bottom of the window. 

The [Browser] Tab is useful if you need to share just one open tab in your browser. To select this option, click on the ‘preview’ window of the tab you want to share , then click Share at the bottom of the window.

Updated on 23/08/2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles