Upload content to Collaborate

What is it?

In a face-to-face live lecture, you will normally present teaching materials on a screen or projector to a class. The process is the same for online teaching however, you will have to share your screen or content so that others will be able to see and follow your presentation and any interactions you make with it during a live session.

What does it do?

This guide will explain how to

  • Share your screen (with and without internal audio)
  • Share a specific application window
  • Share files
  • Use a shared whiteboard in your Collaborate session

What should I know?

To share a file in Collaborate

Step 1: Open the Share Content window

Step 2: Click on the option for Share Files.

Screenshot of the Share Content tab in a Collaborate session.

Step 3: Click on the Add Files button can upload any PDFs, image files, or PowerPoint presentations. You can also drag and drop those file types into this window.

Note: PowerPoint files are ‘flattened’ when they are uploaded to Collaborate. This will essentially turn them into PDF pages, stripping animations, transitions, and any other interactive content.

Screenshot of the 'Share files' area of a Collaborate session. There is a PowerPoint file uploaded.

Step 4: Click Share Now once your file has finished uploading.

Once you’ve started sharing your content, you can use the buttons in the top left of the window.

Screenshot of the icons for sharing the whiteboard or files in a Collaborate session.

·        The icon of a hand creates a pointer that all the participants can see.

·        The pencil icon allows you to draw on the item being shared.

·        The square icon allows you to draw a shape (square, circle, or line) on the item.

·        The ‘T’ icon allows you to enter typed text on the item.

·        The bin icon clears the screen of everything added to it.

If you’re sharing a PowerPoint presentation, you’ll have arrow buttons at the bottom of the window that allow you to move between slides.

To stop sharing, click the square button in the top right of the main window.

Screenshot of a PowerPoint file being shared in a Collaborate session. There is a circle around the button to end sharing the PowerPoint slides.
Share screens or application windows

Step 1: Open the Share Content window (for help doing this, look at the getting started with Collaborate guide)

Step 2: Click on Share Application/Screen

Step 3: Choose what you want to share. A pop-up window will appear that has tabs across the top for ‘Your Entire Screen’, ‘Application Window’ and ‘[Browser] Tab’.

Step 3.1: Your Entire Screen shares your whole screen. To select this option, click on the ‘preview’ window of your screen, then click Share at the bottom of the window. When you have selected a screen, you’ll see a blue box outlining it. If you haven’t selected a screen, then you won’t be able to use the Share button.

Screenshot of the 'Share your screen' pop-up in a Collaborate session. There is an arrow pointing to the thin blue outline around Screen showing, showing this item as been selected to share.

If you want to share internal audio, make sure you have selected the box in the bottom-left hand corner that says Share audio.

Step 3.2: Sharing your Application Window is ideal if you want to share an application such as Excel or Word without sharing your whole screen. Select the preview window for the application you want to share, then click Share at the bottom of the window. 

Step 3.3: The [Browser] Tab is useful if you need to share just one open tab in your browser. To select this option, click on the ‘preview’ window of the tab you want to share, then click Share at the bottom of the window.

Share a Whiteboard

Step 1: Open the Share Content window 

Step 2: Click on the option for Share Blank Whiteboard.

Once you’re sharing your whiteboard, you can use all the tools mentioned above (pointer, pencil, shapes, text, and bin).

To stop sharing, click the square button in the top right of the main window or the square button to the right of the option for Share Blank Whiteboard in the Share Content window.

Updated on 08/09/2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment