What the roles in Collaborate mean

What is it?

In Collaborate, you can change the permission levels of users through assigning different roles. This guide will explain the purpose of each role and what permissions they have.

What does it do?

By default, Collaborate invitees will be assigned the role of participator. You can change this either during the creation of the session or during the session itself to allow certain permissions.

  • Learn what the roles are and what they do
  • Grant and restrict permissions
  • Present and moderate a session
  • Chat with certain course roles

What should I know?

There are three roles: 

Participant – allows students to view the session but not to share content or change settings. 

  • Depending on the other session settings you have enabled, participants may or may not be able to share their microphones or video. They will always be able to raise their hands.

Presenter – this has a higher level of permissions than a participant, but some features are not accessible and they cannot remove users from a session.

Moderator–has the highest level of permissions – they have full control in the session.

Roles can be changed back to participant when permissions are no longer required.

Presenters:

This is the best role for presenters who are not leading the session (e.g. guest lecturers, student presentations, etc. Or if you have restricted student access to video/audio, but you want to allow a single student to use the audio, you can change their role mid-session to that of a presenter, then change them back to a participant once they have finished.

Presenters will always have access to turn on their audio and video. In addition to this, they have the ability to share some content. They can share a whiteboard, their screen or an application, they can share a different camera, or share files (this is restricted to certain file types). 

Screenshot of the Share Content panel in a Collaborate session. The only items visible are in the 'Primary Content'.
Moderators:

This is the best role for the member(s) of staff who will be formally running the session. They have all of the permissions of the presenter, and a few more.

There is a moderator-only chat set up by default in all Collaborate sessions. This allows you to chat privately with the other moderators in the session.

In the attendees panel, you can change a user’s role, make someone a captioner, or remove them from a session.

Screenshot of a Collaborate session with the side panel open to the attendees panel. The three dots next to a user have been clicked, and the menu of options for this participant is showing.

In addition to sharing content, moderators also have the ability to create polls and create and manage breakout-sessions.

Finally, moderators have control of settings from within the session to change participant’s permissions to share audio, video, post chat messages, and draw on whiteboards and files. 

Updated on 08/09/2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment