My Dundee: Module Refresh (resolved)

We are currently rolling over modules in MyDundee. Just to remind you, this is the process by which we create new modules, either rolled over from the previous year, or empty ones, for those that prefer to significantly update their modules.

This does take some time, as we have to extract data from information that school offices have supplied, check its validity, then generate upload files (our new system administrator, Andy Dalrymple, has created a great form which makes this much easier for us, and, we hope for admin staff … but there are still various checks we have to carry out, so it’s not as instant as we’d like it to be).

However, once you have the new modules, here’s some information.

Checklist

  • Check that you have access to the module and that it is correctly named.
  • If the new module is based on a previous one, check that all the content you expect to be there, is there (remember that some elements, such as announcements, are not copied over).
  • Add colleagues to the module (see below)
  • ‘Recycle’ any Turnitin assignments that have been copied over from a previous year (see below)
  • ‘Synchronize’ and SafeAssign assignments that have been copied over (see below)
  • Check your file links (see below)
  • Prepare your module as required
  • Make your Module available (see below)

Note: When editing your module, don’t forget to switch on the Edit Mode.

edit mode on

Adding colleagues to your module.

Those of you who have instructor roles are able to add users to their modules without having to contact CTIL.

    1. Select the User tool from the CourseManagement settings:
    2. In the Users window, you’ll see a list of everyone who is enrolled on the Module. Click “enrol user”, than “find users to enrol”.
    3. Now you can either enter the Username(s) of the staff you wish to enter if you know them (remember: it’s the email address before the @ sign, without the dots). Alternatively, click browse, and search using their name. Make sure you select “instructor” as the user type.
      If you want to add multiple users, separate their IDs with a comma.
      N.B. If you want to add multiple users, you should be aware that a single error in the list leads to none of the users being added, so it can be useful to add just a few at a time.

Course Catalogue and Institutional Hierarchy.

At present, all staff involved in a module have to be enrolled on it, leading to many staff having a very long list of modules.

CTIL are currently working on two of the features that we have in My Dundee – an Institutional hierarchy and a course catalogue. This will allow those users who need access to a large number of modules to view the contents of modules, without having to be enrolled. This will be particularly useful to administrative staff, L & T co-ordinators, and those departments that routinely enrol all staff on all modules. We will be contacting departments as we start to implement this.

Recycling Turnitin Assignments.

Modules that have been copied over from a previous version that include Turnitin assignments will need to re-establish their link to the Turnitin server

Click the “view assignment link” – and then you’ll see the following message.

Information about recycling a Turnitin assignment.

This only needs to be done once per module. Note that you aren’t able to delete the assignments until you have recycled them.

Do not worry about the message about assignments no longer being accessible, you will still be able to access them from last year’s module, it’s just you can’t access last year’s assignments from this year’s module. The message is more alarming than it needs to be!

Synchronising SafeAssign assignments.

Similar to Turnitin, SafeAssign assignments should also re-establish their link when copied from a previous year:

  1. In the Course Management section of the left hand menu, go to Course Tools | SafeAssign
  2. In the SafeAssign items window, you’ll see a button on the righthand side labelled “Synchronise this course”
  3. Click, and wait for the process to complete.

Making the module available.

Don’t forget to make the module available to students, once you have updated it. It’s an easy thing to forget. In the module, you’ll see an “(unavailable to students)” message in the top left, next to the module name. In your list of modules, you’ll see a red x next to the module name.

  1.  Go to ‘Control Panel’, then ‘Customisation’, then ‘Properties’:
  2. Scroll down the properties until you get to Set Availability.
  3. Choose Yes, and then “Submit”.

Do not use Term availability – this is not a setting that we use, so it will not work =.

Qwickly

If you are an administrator on many modules, you can set the availability for some or all of them at the same time, using Qwickly.

Please see https://sites.dundee.ac.uk/ctil/help/qwickly/ for more information.

A final check.

Some users have reported an error with some of the files that they have links for in their module. Look through all the student facing documents you have on your module and if you see an error message, click on ‘Edit’ to search for and re-establish the link.

We apologise for this error as we are unsure what has caused it to happen. It seems to be very rare and if you have the error and have any issues re-establishing the link, please get in touch with us.

 

Comments

  1. As a new lecturer last year, this is the first time I will be preparing my module after rollover – thank you for the excellent guide, Emma!

    1. Thank you! Have you seen the Module Makeover posts we’re doing this week? There will be 5 over the course of the week.

Leave a Comment