In Original modules, when an item was in the processing of being marked, instructors could hide the column from within the Gradecentre to ensure students couldn’t see the marks early.
Although you can’t hide the column in Ultra modules, you can hide the assigned item. This will prevent the students from seeing their marks in the Gradebook or through the assignment itself (for Blackboard and Turnitin assignments).
To do this, simply change the visibility from ‘Visible to students’ to ‘Hidden from Students’. If you’re using ‘Conditional availability’, you can use the date setting to hide the item on a specific date.
One important ramification to consider is that the item itself won’t be available to students, so they won’t be able to submit any late work once the item has been hidden.
This will hide the item and marks from students even if the marks have been posted, and even if the Feedback Release Date has passed for items in Turnitin.
Once you’re ready for the students to be able to view their grades, you’ll need to change the availability back to ‘Visible to students’.