Managing users on your site

Once you’ve had your site created, you want to add other people to it – either as content creators, or as subscribers so they can access your site if you’ve made it private. You can do this if you are an administator on the site and as long as they already have existing accounts in Learning Spaces. You can change a user’s role or remove any users from your site.

What is it?

You can go into the users tab in your site’s dashboard to give access to anyone who already had a Learning Spaces account, change the role of anyone, or remove them from the site entirely.

What do I need to know?

To add existing users:

First, remember that you won’t be able to create new accounts, so if you have any issues adding users, contact us via Help4U and be sure to include:

  • Your site URL
  • The name of the person you want to add
  • The person’s email address
  • What role they should have

Step 1: Log in to your Learning Spaces Site, hover over the title of your blog in the black bar at the top of the screen and click on “Dashboard”.

Step 2: In the black menu bar in the right-hand side, click on the link for “Users” near the bottom.

Step 3: Click on the button at the top of the window that says “Add existing”.

Screenshot of a Dashboard in Learning Spaces. The Users tab is open and there's an arrow pointing to the user's tab in the menu, and to the button "Add existing" at the top of the users's page.

Step 4: Enter the user’s full University of Dundee email address in the box, and use the drop-down menu to select the role they should have.

Tip: Make sure you use the full email address, e.g. j.z.bloggs@dundee.ac.uk (with full stops).

USER CAPABILITYAdministratorEditorAuthorContributorSubscriber
Change themesYes
Add and remove widgets from sidebarYes
Activate and deactivate pluginsYes
Add and remove usersYes
Change user roles of other usersYes
Edit, delete or approve commentsYesYes
Add, edit or delete categoriesYesYes
Add, edit or delete tagsYesYes
Add or remove linksYesYes
Edit or delete published posts by any userYesYes
Write own pagesYesYes
Edit or delete published pages by any userYesYes
Edit or delete media filesYesYes
Upload media filesYesYesYes
View commentsYesYesYesYes
Write own postsYesYesYesYes **
Edit own postsYesYesYesYes
Edit own profileYesYesYesYesYes
** Contributors are able to submit posts as pending review but needs an administrator or editor to publish the post.

Step 5: Click “Add Existing User”. If the person has been added, you’ll see a notice with a green bar at the top of this window that says “User has been added to your site”.

If they have not been added, you’ll see a notice with a red bar at the top of the window that says “The requested users does not exist”. If you see this, you’ll need to log a call with Help4U adding in the required information mentioned earlier.

To change someone’s role:

Remember, the person will have to already be added as a user to your site in order to change their role.

Step 1: In your Dashboard, click on the link for “Users” near the bottom. (For information on accessing your Dashboard, see Step 1 in the section on adding existing users).

Step 2: Tick the box next to the person whose role you want to change. You can select multiple people if you will be changing them to the same new role.

Step 3: Click on the drop-down box for “Change role to…” and select the desired role. (For information on role permissions, see Step 4 in the section on adding existing users).

Screenshot of the list of users. There is a tick box next to a user, and an arrow pointing to this tick box. There's also an arrow pointing to the drop-down menu for "Change role to" which is open.

Step 4: Click the “Change” button next to the drop-down box.

To remove someone:

Step 1: In your Dashboard, click on the link for “Users” near the bottom. (For information on accessing your Dashboard, see Step 1 in the section on adding existing users).

Step 2: Hover over the username of the person you want to remove. Then click “Remove” from the options that will appear under their username.

Screenshot of the users panel in Learning Spaces with an arrow pointing to the link "Remove" under a username.

Step 3: In the next window, click on the button for “Confirm Removal” if you do want to remove them from your site.

Updated on 26/10/2022

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Further Help
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support

Leave a Comment