Remove or edit a group

What is it?

Removing a student from a group in Blackboard is also known as unassigning them.

What does it do?

Unassigning a student from a group will remove them from any group related activities and communications associated with that group

  • Unassign a student from a group
  • Reassign students to another group
  • Remove all members from a group or remove the group entirely

What should I know?

To remove a group:

Step 1: Navigate to the Details and Actions menu on your module page.

Blackboard ultra module view showing the Detals and Actions menu highlighting the course groups option

Step 2: Select your Group Set by Navigating to the three dots and select Delete

Blackboard ultra course groups screen highlighting the delete option in the group more action menu

You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the group. If any students were attached to the group, they will automatically be moved into the section at the top for Unassigned Students.

To edit a group

Step 1: Navigate to the three dots and select Edit 

Blackboard ultra course groups screen highlighting the edit option in the group more action menu

Step 2: You can change the description by clicking into the text box, change the group name by selecting the pencil icon.

Blackboard ultra new group screen highlighting the edit name, more options and save buttons

To remove a group

Step 1: To remove a student, click on the three dots by the student’s name and select unassign. Alternatively, you can use the drop-down menu from the three dots to move the student directly into another group.

Step 2: Save your work

Updated on 09/09/2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment