Create breakout rooms

What is it?

Breakout rooms are essentially miniature sessions within the main collaborate session. You can assign students to these rooms and they can reconvene back into the main session.

What does it do?

Breakout rooms are ideal for group work. The instructor can enter and leave breakout rooms just as they would go round groups in a classroom. The students can collaborate in smaller groups, making use of collaborative tools and engaging in discussion.

For Instructors

  • Assign students to groups
  • Go between breakout rooms
  • Utilise collaborative tools
  • Engage in group work

What should I know?

Step 1: You can create breakout groups in your session by clicking into Breakout Groups.

Step 2: You can either randomly assign students to groups, or custom assign.

Selecting the Include moderators in group assignment will also assign the moderators to groups.

Step 3: Select the Number of Groups from the available options. Selecting the Allow attendees to switch groups will let session attendees jump between groups freely. 

Step 4: Hover over the students’ names to drag and drop them into different groups. You can rename the groups by clicking into the top section of each, and you can also add and delete groups. 

Step 5: When your groups are all set up, click Start

Note: When in a room, students have presenter permissions, and the recording from the main room stops. 

Screenshot of a Collaborate session with the chat panel open. The Share Content tab is open, and Breakout Rooms have been set up but not started. There is a green circle around the 'start' button.
Updated on 08/09/2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment