1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Staff
  4. My Dundee
  5. Managing course access
  6. How to manage your course availability for students

How to manage your course availability for students

What is it? 

Course availability is a setting that allows your module to be locked or available to students.

What does it do?

Course availability allows you to make your module visible or hidden to students. There is also a new option that allows you to ‘lock’ the module and prevent any changes from being made, but still allows students access to it.

  • Make your module locked so students can’t access it whilst you build content
  • Make your module available to students
  • Complete or archive your module

What should I know?

If your module is set as locked/private, students will be able to see the module in their ‘Modules’ tab on My Dundee, but they won’t be able to access the module to see the content. 

Modules – List View
Screenshot of the Modules page in List View showing where to click to set the availability of the module.

Step 1: From the My Dundee Institution page, select Modules. If viewing the Modules page in List View, click on the  to the right of the relevant module name and select Open module. You will be presented with an Open Course? pop-up, select Open to Students.

Modules – Grid View
Screenshot of the Modules page in Grid View showing where to click to set the availability of the module.

Step 1: From the My Dundee Institution page, select Modules. If viewing the Modules page in List View, click on the  to the right of the relevant module name and select Open module. You will be presented with an Open Course? pop-up, select Open to Students

Within a Module
Screenshot of a module showing where to click to set the availability of the module.

Step 1: From within a module, select Module is private from the Details & Actions menu. You will be presented with an Open Course? pop-up, select Open to Students

Making modules ‘complete’

There is also now a third option when it comes to setting the availability of your module. You can set your module to be ‘complete’ which allows you to stop students from being able to interact with or edit the module, but they can still access and see the content.

If a module has been set as complete, you will see the following message at the top of your module page: “Course is complete! You can no longer make edits to this course or its content.”

If this has been done inadvertently, click on the link that says Students can view content, but cannot participate, under the Details & Actions menu within the module, and then select Open Course.

Updated on 08/09/2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment