1. Home
  2. Staff Services
  3. Collaborate
  4. Run a Collaborate session
  5. Avoid an infinity view when sharing your screen in Collaborate

Avoid an infinity view when sharing your screen in Collaborate

What is it?

When sharing an application or screen in Collaborate Ultra, you may experience an infinity tunnel effect. This will occur when the screen or browser you are sharing is displaying the active Ultra session.

What does it do?

The infinity window can be frustrating, but you can learn how to prevent this from occurring.

  • Share the correct screen in Collaborate
  • Prevent the infinity tunnel

What should I know?

What the ‘infinity tunnel’ is, and what causes it

Selecting the web browser with Collaborate open will give you the infinity/tunnel view shown below. 

Screenshot of the 'infinity tunnel' in Collaborate. This is when the Collaborate moderator is sharing their screen and the screen has the Collaborate window open.

This happens because the screen that you’re sharing is showing the Collaborate window. To resolve this, simply make sure that you’re not sharing the Collaborate window that you are holding your session in. You can do this by minimising the Collaborate window; however, you won’t be able to see the chat messages or any other information from the session. If you have two monitors, you can move the Collaborate window onto the screen that you’re not sharing. This will allow you to see the chat and share your screen at the same time without the tunnel effect. 

How to share your browser without this effect

Step 1: If you are in a Collaborate session, and you want to share something that is open on your computer, from the right-hand side menu, select the Share Content tab.

Step 2: Select Share Application/Screen.

Screenshot of a Collaborate session with the side panel open. There is a circle around the Share Content tab, which is open. There is another circle around the option to share application/screen.

Step 3: If you need to share something in a web browser, have a separate browser window open that contains what you want to share before you start your session. Select the relevant web browser to share it (not the one with BB Collaborate open).

Updated on 01/03/2022

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support