Use the course room in Collaborate

What is it?

The Course Room is available for you and your students to go in and use at any time. It is a space to hold adhoc Collaborate live sessions on your module

What does it do?

To join, create or manage sessions, the Collaborate links are in the left-hand menu of your module. The ‘Join Session’ link is where you can join all sessions that are open. You can also access the Course Room from here. 

You may want to close it before and/or during your scheduled sessions to avoid confusion (this is shown below). 

  • Hold adhoc live sessions with your students
  • Available at any time for anyone on the module
  • Set up a guest link
  • Record attendance
  • Lock and unlock sessions
Blackboard ultra module highlighting the details & actions section

Step 2: To unlock or lock the course room, select manage all settings

Blaackboard ultra module details and actions menu highlighing the manage all sessions option in the Collaborate more options menu

Step 3: Select the Course Room title on the top left-hand menu

blackboard collaborate sessions menu highlighting the course room session

Step 4: On the right-hand panel, select lock course room to close the course room and unlock course room to open it again.

Blackboard collaborate session event details menu

Note: For more information on the Course Room including how to provide a guest link and managing settings in Collaborate, please see the Live Teaching learning module.

Updated on 09/09/2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment