1. Home
  2. For Staff
  3. Teaching Spaces
  4. Lecture Capture
  5. How to download your Collaborate recordings and upload them in YuJa
  1. Home
  2. For Staff
  3. Digital Education
  4. Yuja
  5. Record and upload your video
  6. How to download your Collaborate recordings and upload them in YuJa
  1. Home
  2. For Staff
  3. Digital Education
  4. Collaborate
  5. After the session
  6. How to download your Collaborate recordings and upload them in YuJa

How to download your Collaborate recordings and upload them in YuJa

The Collaborate tool is intended for live, synchronous on-line teaching and not for lectures. Therefore, recordings from Collaborate typically don’t need to be kept and re-used as video assets. However, there may be cases where you want to save your recordings for longer-term storage and/or reuse. Use the following guide for how to do this!

Locate your recording

Step 1: When the recording is ready, click on the three dots beside Blackboard Collaborate.

Screenshot of a module page in My Dundee. There is a circle around the Blackboard Collaborate item in the Details and Actions menu.

Step 2: Select the option for View all recordings

Screenshot of the Collaborate menu open with a circle around the text "View all recordings".

Step 3: In the next page, make sure that you change the filter from Upcoming session’ to Recordings in a range. Use the date options on the top left-hand side of the window to filter to find the recordings you’d want.

Screenshot of the recordings page in Collaborate in a module. Recordings are visible in a list, and there is an arrow pointing at the three dots next to a recording. This menu is open and shows all of the options an instructor will see.

Note: The default filter of Recent Recordings is limited to 30 days, and therefore you may not find the recording you’re looking for with this filter.

Step 4: Find the recording you want to access and click on the three dots at the furthest right in that row. That will open a menu that will include options to watch the recording, download it, or change the name.

Step 5: Download the recording and find it wherever your downloads are saved on your computer.

Step 6: You will most likely need to rename this file as it will have a very long title. We recommend making sure your name is something clear – you may also want to include things like module IDs and dates.

Upload your recording to YuJa

Once you’ve got your recording(s) downloaded from Collaborate, you’ll be ready to upload them into YuJa.

First, however, you may want to set up folders to hold materials from your past modules, so we’ll start there.

Create a folder

Step 1: Go to https://video.dundee.ac.uk/ and login using UoD Single Sign-On.

Step 2: Once you’re logged in, click on My Media in the left-hand menu under ‘Personal’.

Step 3: At the top of the screen, click on the text for New Folder. Enter the title for your new folder. You may want to include your module ID and the academic year of the content.

Screenshot of a YuJa My Media Collection page open. There is an arrow pointing to the "Add folder" button, and another arrow pointing at a pop-up window with a line for the folder's title.

Upload videos to your folder

There are two ways to upload a file, and we’ll cover both in the directions below!

Step 1: Double-click to go into the folder you’ve just created.

Step 2 (Method 1): The easiest method is to open the folder on your computer where the file is being held. Then drag and drop the video file into the main area.

Step 2 (Method 2): Click on Upload at the top of your screen. From here click Browse and find where the file is kept and click “Open”.

Screenshot of the YuJa page with an arrow pointing at the button for Upload. There is an open window within the screenshot and there is another arrow pointing at the button that says "Browse".

Step 3: Once the videos have finished uploading and processing, you can hover over the video and click More to edit the name and description to change the title, add a subtitle, or add any other information. Click Save when you’re done.

Screenshot of YuJa with a video uploaded. The mouse is hovering over the video and an arrow is pointing at the menu item there called "more". This panel is also open to "General" and there is an arrow pointing to the title and the description.

Publish your recordings

Once you’ve got your recordings in YuJa, you may want to publish them to your module channels so students can still access them. If that’s the case, follow the instructions below:

Step 1: In My Dundee, go into your module where you want to publish the videos to and open the YuJa channel link. This establishes the link between your module in My Dundee, YuJa, and your instructor account. You only need to do this once per class, but you will need to do it in each module.

In Ultra modules, you can always find this in the left-hand Details & Actions menu by clicking on the link for View External Apps. In the side panel, click on the link for YuJa: Channel.

Screenshot of a module page with an arrow pointing to the item "External apps" in the "Details and Actions" menu. This side panel is open and there is an arrow pointing to YuJa: Channel.

Step 2: Go back into YuJa and into the folder where you uploaded your videos. You can click and hold down to select all of the videos you want to publish to a single location.

Step 3: At the top of your screen, click on the drop down menu More Actions and click on Bulk Publish.

Screenshot of YuJa where there are six videos, four of which are selected. The More Options menu is open and there is an arrow pointing to it and to the option to Bulk Publish.

Step 4: Find the module you want to publish them to and click on it. You’ll see this appear in a list at the bottom of the window that says Selected Channels. You can publish to more than one channel at a time, so you can select any additional channels that you’d like.

Screenshot of the Publish menu. An arrow is pointing to the search bar, to two modules in the Selected Channels area, and to the Select button.

Step 5: Click Select and the selected videos will be published to the channel(s) you specified.

Updated on 18/10/2022

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Further Help
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support

Leave a Comment